Communication Growth and Development

After my last blog post, I’ve had a lot of time to think about what actually happened and I’ve realized that it was probably for the better that I didn’t get the President position in my hall. Why? Because I was selected to be one of three Competition chairs through my leadership program! Every year this program puts together an engineering competition for high school students to compete against each other in various formats. In high school, I competed in this specific engineering competition twice, and competitions like this were my favorite part of my high school experience (aside from performing of course!), so I’m super excited to be able to plan this event with two other members of the program. However, we’ve already had some downfalls with this set-up and it’s barely been 24 hours since we’ve started.

Communication is going to be such an issue with this event. I’m literally going to be the only one out of the three of us that will be in the state over the entire summer, and the only one who will be able to meet with our advisers on a weekly or daily basis. If it didn’t already seem difficult to communicate there, throw in the fact that one of them will be out of the country and that we all have conflicting view points on how to proceed first and everything becomes twice as difficult. We each have different ideas of how things should be executed, but we can all agree that we want our cohort to have as much input on the actual competition as possible.

I guess that I just don’t know how to proceed from here. I really want to just take the reins and charge, but I can’t do that because everything has to be given the okay by the other two group members. It’s nice, because there are some things that I would do that probably shouldn’t be done right this instant. At the same time, however, I recognize that some of these things need to get done as soon as possible, which means they need to get done before the end of the semester. It’s not only extremely frustrating for me, but also extremely frustrating for everybody else in my cohort because they want information now that we just haven’t come to a consensus on.

How do you communicate rapidly with people who are going to be in another state or another country or another time zone? I honestly have no idea and this hasn’t been done before for our program, at least as far as I know. I want to make certain calls and get information out to the cohort, but nothing is happening for long periods of time. Granted, it’s only been a day, so I can’t really say what will happen for the duration of the Summer. But if we keep going on this track things are never going to get done before the competition.

Leave a Reply

